Ganzer Jürgen (1950 - today)

Jürgen Ganzer was born on August 6th 1950 in Potsdam, Germany.

He started taking accordion lessons at the age of ten, in 1960, at the Potsdam Music School. From 1965 till 1969 he was a student at the Hans-Eisler-Spezialschule für Musik Berlin. From 1969 till 1975 he studied composition with Wolfram Heicking and accordion with Christine and Hans Boll at the Highschool for Music "Hanns Eisler" in Berlin.

After graduation, Ganzer started working as a free-lance composer, teacher, accompanist and arranger a.o. at the "Volksbühne Berlin", the Berliner Ensemble and Friedrichstadtpalast. He was mostly interested in the genre of chanson and folkloristic music. From 1979 he played in an accordion-duo and he gave performances with Latin-American musicians. 

Ganzer composed electronic music, chamber music, music for films (die Wokrenterstrasse, 1986), pieces for theater and radioplays. He dedicated himself to the guitar and the accordion.
From 1983 till 1990 Ganzer was a member of the Central Accordion Board of the GDR. Since the dissolution of this organisation he took part in the preparation and organisation of international accordion competitions. In 1996 he was chairman of the jury for the "Coupe Mondiale du Confédération Internationale des Accordeonistes" (CIA, IMC-UNESCO).
Since 1978 Ganzer was teacher at the Berliner Musikhochschule. In 1988 he became lecturer composition and music theory at the same highschool and since 1993 he is professor for music theory and instrumentation.

Ganzer won several prices for his music:
1972: the first prize as an accordion soloist
1972: the prize for chamber music at the composer competition from the radio-program "Der Stimme der DDR"
1985, 1986: first prize for duo's at the International Accordioncompetition Klingenthal

1973: Memoro for accordeon ensemble
1976-2003: Dies und Das, 17 constructive                     pieces for accordeon solo
1984: Fantasy 84 for accordeon solo
1988: Silhouettes in three parts for                                 accordeon solo
1990: Suite for accordeon ensemble
1993: Zyklus II for flute and accordeon
1995: Passacaglia for accordeon solo
1996: Ianus for accordeon duo
Meccanico for accordeon duo
Rätschhafte Gestalten aus dem Modal-Reich                  for accordeon duo
Back to previous page