Lundquist Torbjörn Iwan (1920 - 2000) 

Torbjörn Lundquist was born in Stockholm on 30th of September 1920. He was a Swedish composer, conductor and musicologist.

After military service in 1945, he studied musicology at the University of Uppsala, with Issai Dobrowen, and composition with Dag Wirén. In Salzburg and Vienna he studied conducting with Otmar Suitner.

In 1947 he founded his own chamber orchestra, which he also conducted. From 1949 till 1956 he was conductor with the orchestra of the Royal Theatre Drotteningholm. Since that time he was guest conductor with orchestras in Sweden and throughout Europe.
From 1963 till 1971 Lundquist was member of the administrationof the Swedish Federation of Composers. From 1969 till 1971 he was their second president.

In 1956 his symphony no 1 was premiered, but it was followed by a period of experimentation and studies in different styles, genres and traditions. From 1970 Lundquist decided to stop composing symphonical works. Only the financial support of the Swedish government allowed him to restart composing symphonical music. 
His Symphony no 3, Sinfonie Dolorosa, was a pioneering work. His relationship with nature is shown in Symphony no 4, Sinfonia Ecologica and also in Symphony no 6, Sarek.

Lundquist used different forms of expression and style in order to reach the synthesis he was looking for: traditional music, modern avant-garde and jazz elements are confrontated with each other. The various elements merge together into a personal and rich palette, that the composer refined to a strong expression over the years.

The works of Torbjörn Lundquist reflect a strong acceptance of life and love for freedom, with feelings that range from thoughtful sincerity to great eruptions. Lundquist lived close to nature, but also close to what happened in the outside world. He was looking for the key of living, not to escape reality, but for being able to recover.

In 1989 he was rewarded the Atterberg Prize for his engaged musical works. In 1992 he got the Hugo Alfvenprize.
Concerts for instruments and orchestra
1963-1965 Concerto de camera, for accordeon and orchestra
1967-1981 Intarzia for accordeon and String orchestra
1971 Stockholmsmusik for accordeon and string orchestra
1981 Samspil, concertino for accordeon and orchestra
Chamber music
1966 Bewegungen for accordeon and string quartet
1966 Duel for accordeon and percussion
1969 Stereogram III for accordeon, xylorimba, vibraphone, crotales and guitar
1963 Partita Piccola
1965 Metamorphoses
1966 Nine two-part inventions
1967 Plasticity, plastic variations
1967-1983 Sonatina Piccola
1968 Ballad for two accordeons
1968 Botany play
1971 Microscope, 21 pieces
1972 Copenhagen Music for accordeon solo and accordeon quintet
1972 Lappri
1981 Assoziationen
Back to previous page