Derbenko Yevgeny (1949 - till now)

Yevgeny Petrovich Derbenko was born on March 17, 1949 in Pavlovsky Posad (Moscow Region). In 1973 he graduated from Gnesins' State Musical Pedagogical Institute (accordeon department lead by Honoured Artist of the Russian Federation A. N. Gus) Ever since then he is a composer, pedagogue, performer and Honoured Artist of the Russian Federation in Orel and Orel Region.

Since 1974 he works as a teacher at the Orel Music College. Yevgeni Derbenko is the author of more than 1500 pieces, which he mostly writes for Russian folk instruments.
His works are concertos for accordeon, concertina, domra and balalaika with orchestra, concertos for two accordeons with symphonic orchestra, opera "The great deputation", sonatas, suites, miniatures, music for performances.
Since 1981 Derbenko became the artistic manager of the Russian folk instruments orchestra "Orlovski Souvenir", which  performed in Russia and several other countries. In 1988 he started to play together with A. V. Kochergin. This duet became a laureat of international contests. Pieces written by Derbenko make the part of the repertoire of the radio orchestra conducted by N. Nekrasov, the Osipov's National Russian Folk Instruments Soloists Ensemble, A. Sklyarov, F. Lips and many others.

Derbenko has taught such musicians as laureats of Russian and international contests. Since 1999 he is also holder of a honorable medal "People's acknowledgement", a silver medal of Gnesin's RAM "for merrits in accordeon art" and in 2002 he got a medal "Honorable Special Secondary Educationalist"
works for accordeon, among others:

Sonata in classic style
Lyrical waltz
​​Traveling across countries of the world
Rock Toccata
Suite in retro style
  • that old tango
  • I feel sad without you
  • my vasia
  • Quiet evening
  • Rally
Children of Perestroika (suite)
Three suites for children
Seasons, suite for accordeon
Back to previous page