Cholminow Alexander Nikolaevich ( 1925 - till now )

Alexander Cholminow was born in Moscow on 8 September 1925.

He wrote a series of operas, symphonies and oeuvres for choirs. Though he had written only one piece for bayan, the famous suite in four movements which he composed in 1951, he was a renowned composer to all bayanplayers. This suite was performed on various occasions and contests and many bayanists were hoping for new work from Cholminow.

Half a century later, in 2007, Alexander Cholminow started to write another piece for bayan: Sinfonia Concertante for bayan solo. He wrote this piece especially for the famous bayan player Friedrich Lips. 
During life Cholminow had been influenced by the impressive music of Mussorgsky, Rimsky-Korsakov and Mjakowski. This influence was to be felt in his latest work for bayan. The interpretation of the symphony asks a lot of energy and emotional involvement of the performer. The continuous development of this great fresco is based on the depth of the Russian soul and mentality. 
Works for bayan

Suite in four movements
Sinfonia Concertante

Back to previous page